Skip to content

2016 Ag Hall of Distinction inductees announced

Agri News by Don Molino

Louisiana Radio Network Announces Inductees For 2016 Ag Hall of Distinction


The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction will honor its 2016 inductees during a banquet at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 17 at L’Auberge Hotel in Baton Rouge.

The 2016 inductees are:

  • Willie Cooper of Pineville for his notable contributions to the agribusiness community. Cooper served 42 years as state executive director of the Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service, which later merged with other agencies to form the Farm Service Agency.
  • Ruben John Dauzat of Marksville for his substantial role in agricultural production. Dauzat was named outstanding master farmer in 2014 under the Louisiana Master Farmer program.
  • Raymond Hensgens (posthumously) of Crowley for his significant contributions to rice farming. Hensgens was a founding partner in G&H Seed, which was acquired in 2012 by farm supplier Jimmy Sanders Inc. Hensgens’ son will accept the honor on his father’s behalf.

The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction honors those who have made significant contributions to the state’s agriculture community in farming, ranching, forestry, aquaculture, education and agribusiness.

The annual induction ceremony is presented by the Louisiana Radio Network in cooperation with the LSU AgCenter and the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. Monsanto serves as title sponsor, and First South Farm Credit is the presenting sponsor.

Tickets are available to the public. Additional information is available online at Tickets, which include a reception and dinner, are $35 each plus a small handling fee.

Founded in 1974, Louisiana Radio Network provides 63 radio stations throughout Louisiana and parts of Mississippi with news, sports and agri-news. LRN also publishes Tiger Rag, known as the “Bible of LSU Sports” since 1978, the new “Tiger Rag Extra” magazine that debuts this month, and presents the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction award. Like LRN on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for breaking news @laradionetwork.

Back To Top