Skip to content

ASCL leader honored by LSU

Jim Simon LSU Jim Simon, manager of the American Sugar Cane League, was honored as an outstanding alumnus by the LSU College of Agriculture at an April 8 award ceremony at LSU’s Club at Union Square.

  Simon, a 1983 graduate with a degree in agricultural mechanizations, worked in the banking industry for almost 20 years before he was hired by the League in 2004. Additionally, he completed the LSU Agricultural Leadership Development Program in 2002.

  "I am honored to receive this recognition,” Simon said. "The LSU agricultural community and its advocacy for farming interests have played a crucial role in my professional development and I am very grateful.”

  Upon assuming the League leadership role, Simon worked with other national sugar industry leader and became immediately recognized as a reliable voice and advocate for Louisiana’s 220-year-old sugar industry. He helped to create the sugar industry’s "farmer fly-in” lobbying trips to Washington D.C. and is one of four U.S. sugar industry representatives on a team that negotiates sugar trade issues with Mexico. He has been board chairman of the Sugar Association, an organization that is dedicated to the scientific study of sugar’s role in food and nutrition, and a past chairman of the United State Department of Agricultural Trade Advisory Committee for Sweeteners.

  He has also served on the directory boards of the Greater Iberia Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis Club of New Iberia, Iberia Industrial Development Foundation, Louisiana Sugar Cane Fair and Festival Association, and Shadows on the Teche – National Trust Property.

Simon’s grandfather was a sugar producer in St. James Parish and his father worked as a county agent in St. Mary Parish for many years. His family has also been involved in Louisiana’s rice production business. He resides in New Iberia with his wife, Nancy. They have four children.


# # #

Caption: The LSU College of Agriculture Alumni Association honored alumni, students and faculty at a ceremony April 8. Left to right are Luke Laborde, alumni association president; Barbara Hughes Favre, daughter of Jeff Hughes, outstanding alumnus; Bradley Sartain, recipient of the Ray and Dorothy Young Endowed Assistantship in Louisiana Row Crop Integrated Pest Management; Colorado Robertson, outstanding young alumnus; Georgianna Tuuri, the Ann Armstrong Peltier Professorship in Dietetics; Jim Simon, outstanding alumnus; Ariel Bergeron, recipient of the K.C. Toups Memorial Les Voyageur Award; Phil Elzer, Meraux Foundation Supreme Champion Livestock Professorship; Morgan Richard, recipient of the Gerald and Norma Dill College of Agriculture Alumni Association Outstanding Senior award; and Bill Richardson, dean of the LSU College of Agriculture and LSU vice president for agriculture.

Back To Top