Skip to content

League board of directors adds new member

American Sugar Cane LeagueThe American Sugar Cane League membership voted to add H. K. "Kemper" Bubenzer of Bunkie, La. to the organization's board of directors.

Bubenzer was elected to the board at the League's annual meeting in February. Michael Melancon of Breaux Bridge serves as president while Charles Schudmak of White Castle, vice president; Gregory Gravois of Vacherie, secretary; and Randall Romero of Jeanerette, treasurer; continue to serve as officers and will complete their two year terms in February 2017.

Sugarcane is produced on more than 400,000 acres of land in 22 Louisiana parishes – with production of approximately 13 million tons of cane yearly. The cane is milled at 11 raw sugar factories. Nearly 17,000 employees are involved in the production and processing of sugarcane in Louisiana. 

The American Sugar Cane League of the U.S.A., Inc. is a non-profit organization of Louisiana sugarcane growers and processors. We are dedicated to supporting the Louisiana sugar industry through research, legislation, product promotion, education and public relations

Other board members were selected from around the 22-parish "Sugarcane Belt" of Louisiana including Assumption, Ascension, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, Lafourche, St. James, St.Martin, St. Mary, Terrebonne, Vermilion, West Baton Rouge.

From Iberia Parish: Robert "Brett" Allain of Jeanerette, Ricky Gonsoulin of New Iberia, 
Ronald Gonsoulin of New Iberia, Micah Guidry of Jeanerette, Sean Kidder of New Iberia, 
Will Legendre of Jeanerette, Frank Minvielle of New Iberia, Rivers Patout of Jeanerette, David Thibodeaux of Jeanerette and Lance Weber of Jeanerette.

St. Mary Parish: Jessie Breaux, Franklin; Glenn Vice of Franklin.

St. Martin Parish: Jeff Broussard, St. Martinville; Lonnie Champagne, St. Martinville; Mike Comb, St. Martinville, Edward "Charlie" Levert of St. Martinville

Assumption Parish: Michael Daigle of Belle Rose, Joel Landry of Paincourtville, Chris Mattingly of Paincourtville, Joey Robichaux of Labadieville, E. Stephen Savoie of Belle Rose.

Lafourche Parish: Craig DeGravelle of Raceland; Dan Duplantis, Jr., Raceland; Wallace 
"Dickie" Ellender III of Raceland; 

St. James: Pete Dufresne, Paulina; Frank Sotile Jr. of St. James 

Iberville: Mark Engemann of Maringouin; John Gay of Plaquemine, Scott Kessler of White Castle.

Vermilion: Charles Guidry of Erath, Bryan Simon of Abbeville.

Terrebonne: Bryan Harang of Thibodaux, Greg Nolan of Thibodaux. 

Ascension: Warren Harang III of Donaldsonville, Robert "Bubba" Lemann Jr of Donaldsonville

Pointe Coupee: Jim Harper of Bunkie. .

West Baton Rouge: Travis Medine of Port Allen, Lance Weber of Jeanerette.

Jefferson: Louis "Andy" Andolsek; Metairie.

Back To Top