Skip to content

LSU AgCenter graduate students awarded fellowships

Seven LSU AgCenter graduate students received fellowships funded by the Louisiana Division of the American Society of Sugar Cane Technologists at the February 2022 joint meeting of the ASSCT and American Sugar Cane League.

Dr. Luke Laborde, interim vice president and interim dean of the College of Agriculture made the presentation. The students are all full-time graduate students in plant pathology and crop physiology in the School of Plant Environmental Soil Sciences.

The funding is generated significantly from Louisiana’s cane farmers and millers and is managed by the LSU Foundation. The American Sugar Cane League has played a large role in building the American sugar industry and the research community.

Jose Cortes, Hector Fajardo, Iris Aguilar, Cristina Reis, Rosalie Calderon, Chenie Zamora and Krizzia Guardado were the 2022 recipients.

The Louisiana sugarcane farm gate is valued at more than $1 billion annually and creates a $3 billion economic impact for the state.


Back To Top